GCSD school board elects Silbaugh as next president, Daubendiek VP

By Rick Morain
Jefferson Herald

The Greene County Community School board of directors held its organizational meeting for the current year on Monday evening.

The meeting began with the election of officers, with Bonnie Silbaugh elected president and Cindi Daubendiek elected vice president. Outgoing board president Steve Fisher administered their oaths of office. The meeting then continued with Silbaugh presiding.

Board meetings in the 2022-23 year will continue to be held the third Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. in the district board room in the middle school at 101 Ram Drive in Jefferson. The March 2023 meeting will be held the second Wednesday of the month due to spring break, and the November 2023 meeting will be held the Monday prior to the third Wednesday because of the state school board association convention that week.
Board committees will continue unchanged, as follows:

Bell Tower Foundation, Silbaugh; county assessor’s conference board, Fisher; park and recreation, Daubendiek; negotiations, John McConnell and Silbaugh; classified and administrative salaries, Michelle Fields and Fisher; school improvement advisory, Fields and Daubendiek; school foundation, Silbaugh; facilities, McConnell; insurance, Fisher; scholarships, McConnell and Daubendiek; and wellness, Fields and Silbaugh.
Fisher previously agreed to serve as the 2023 Iowa Association of School Boards convention delegate.
The board approved applicable requests to the state budget review committee (SBRC) for spending authority allowed. The administration will submit a request for a modified supplemental amount of $53,479 for students open-enrolled out in the current year who were not on the prior year’s certified enrollment count, and a request of $4,694 to provide instructional services to students with limited English proficiency being served beyond the five years of budget weighting.

Early graduation requests were approved, pending completion of all requirements, for Joshua Janssen and Caeddance Winger. Both students plan to graduate at the end of the second trimester.
A pair of fundraisers were approved: the high school band for 2023 Homecoming T-shirts and buttons, and Ram Fanatic for spirit sponsors.
The board set the date of Wednesday, Nov. 30 at 5:15 p.m. for a work session to develop board goals with the assistance of an Iowa Association of School Boards facilitator.


The 2021-22 board, composed of the same five members, held its monthly meeting prior to the 2022-23 organizational meeting. In that meeting the board approved an allowable growth request to the SBRC for the 2021-2022 excess limited English proficient expenditures in the amount of $23,821. The amount is a change from the original request made in September.

• The board acted on staffing changes as follows:

Resignations: varsity baseball coach Matthew Paulsen, assistant varsity baseball coach Kevin Paulsen, and custodian Rosa Lozano-Mondragon.
    Hirings: Laura Marshall as business manager and board secretary effective July 1, 2023; Marissa Promes as assistant varsity girls’ basketball coach; and Conner Mueller as seventh grade boys’ basketball coach.
The board accepted the resignation/retirement of middle school instructional coach Brenda Onken at the end of the school year. The board thanked Onken for her many years of service.
Superintendent Brett Abbotts thanked high school principal Brian Phillips for arranging a sponsorship with Fareway for the monthly recognition of students and staff. Gift cards will be given and a banner will be used for photographing the recipients as a result of Fareway’s generosity.

For November, principals recognized the following:
• High school principal Phillips: students Bella Lindberg and Caleb Most, iJAG instructor Shawn Bennett, and activities secretary Misty Bettey.
• Middle school principal Shawn Zanders: students Aspen Jacobs and Jadyn Weber, associate Jill Colpitts, and teacher Doug Brown.
• Elementary principal Andrey Hinote: students Mishael Winkelman-Reutter and Easton Hupp, associate Hailey Larson, third grade teachers Tiffanie Flack, Brenda Lingren, Ashley Miller and Kevin Paulson, and technology director Brent Gerzema.
Six FFA members reported on their trip to the National FFA Convention.



Contact Us

Jefferson Bee & Herald
Address: 200 N. Wilson St.
Jefferson, IA 50129

Phone:(515) 386-4161